Andromeda’s tears

flat,1000x1000,075,f

My yacht, Cetus, gently rises and falls with the sea swell. It is a motion I find comforting, a feeling further enhanced by the occasional sound of muted splashes as the sea laps against the hull.

The sun is low, an orange globe, slowly sinking towards the far horizon; the one we crossed earlier in the day, when the sun was at its zenith.

It was hot then. Oppressively hot.

The raw heat sucked the moisture from our skin, from our mouths, from our lungs, like a vampire drains the blood from its victims. Leaving nothing but shrivelled carcasses of dried parchment in its wake.

Now, I sit on the quarter deck. A flame from the spout of a small Aladdin style genie lamp flickers in the faint breeze; its feeble light still reflects and refracts from the etched glasses and the silver of the pot, from which Cassiopeia is serving sweet Moroccan mint tea.

Casablanca is lost to us, far behind in the darkness, beyond that far horizon. Ahead, barely visible in the dwindling light, is another. One we shall sail over in the morrow, as we make headway for the island of Seriphos.

Upon whose shores Andromeda awaits for our arrival.

8b142d4bee33037d5ffb509b8ad45840--poseidon-tattoo-aquarius-tattoo

Phineas, has let his mouth become quarrelsome with his head once more. The promise of marriage fades, tears run down Andromeda’s cheeks.

Cassiopeia demanded we make this passage, before Poseidon becomes enraged with Andromeda’s words and lets loose the wrath of his jealousy upon the innocence of the young girl.

Which is what brings us here, to the centre of the sea as the night falls.

The sun, I am sure will hiss and splutter as it dips itself into the dark waters of the Mediterranean. Perhaps not, but that is how it seems from my vantage point on this deck.

The mint tea is refreshing, revitalising. It replenishes that which the sun has drained from my body and Sucked from my skin and eyes.

I lean back, the night air is still and warm. It hangs almost immobile, just brushed by the lightest of night breezes. The silence it brings forms an accompanying peace.

All is well with my world, for this moment.

Cassiopeia settles into the seat next to me, she rests her head against my shoulder.

weiss-hunt-

“Will we make landfall tomorrow, Cepheus?” she asks.

“If the winds be to our favour” I reply.

“Then I shall dry Andromedas tears” she says, kissing my neck gently.

.

While you are here why not check out my website, there you can see my books, blogs & works in progress. Feel free to contact me, ask questions and comment. http://paulznewpostbox.wixsite.com/paul-white

 WebsitQRcode

2 thoughts on “Andromeda’s tears

  1. Greek mythology is my favorite though many of its stories faded from my memory. I like the gently rocking atmosphere of this story; it only hints to the tragedy boiling in the depths. Wasn’t the mother, Cassiopeia causing the wrath of Poseidon against her child? So much like the humans imagining them, the Greek gods and goddesses were cocky, cruel, revengeful. They were human in all the good and bad they could cause. Tonight, Zephyros is pushing the sails, drying the tears of Andromeda. Up in the sky, the wheel of stars turn, rolling the myths of times gone and times to come.

    Like

  2. It gets complicated with Medusa, and shed load of intertwining of these gods, Andromeda eventually married Perseus who saved her from the Cetus…etc.etc.
    I am no expert, but it is fascinating stuff and well worth reading to stimulate the muse for modern novel writing. Glad you enjoyed. Iam not sure how many will ‘get this’ but I thought I would post it amyway.
    (BTW, took some of you other pictures to use in CQ too!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

